Country, Culture, People, Future

NAIDOC Week 2012

YMAC Congratulates Janet Stewart for NAIDOC Award!

Posted: July 20th, 2012

Filed under: , , , , , , ,

YMAC would like to extend a big congratulations to Janet Stewart, who was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2012 Hedland NAIDOC Awards two weekends ago for her work mentoring Aboriginal chidlren.

Mrs Stewart is Nyangumarta woman and local teacher at South Hedland Primary School, where she teaches traditional language.

She has also helped to establish Nyangumarta dictionaries through the Wangka Maya Aboriginal Language Centre, and is strongly involved in several Indigenous women’s organisations such as the Mothers of Australia Shed, Pilbara Indigenous Women’s Aboriginal Corporation and Mothers Against Drugs.

We also congratulate all other nominees, finalists and award winners.

For more information about NAIDOC week 2012, visit the NAIDOC website.

YMAC Celebrates NAIDOC week

Posted: July 9th, 2012

Filed under: , , , ,

Thank you to everyone who helped make this NAIDOC week special. Here are just a few photos from last week, when YMAC staff got to speak to people across Pilbara, in Geraldton and in Perth. We hope everyone had a great week celebrating Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture and achievements

NAIDOC in Geraldton

NAIDOC in Port Hedland

NAIDOC in Tom Price

2012 NAIDOC Perth Awards

Posted: April 26th, 2012

Filed under: , ,

The 2012 NAIDOC Perth Awards are seeking nominations for exceptional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander individuals or organisations that have made a significant contribution to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community of Perth. Nominations can be submitted in any of the following categories:

1. Outstanding Achievement
2. Elder of the Year (Male)
3. Elder of the Year (Female)
4. Sportsperson of the year
5. Tertiary Scholar of the Year
6. Youth of the Year (Male)
7. Youth of the Year (Female)
8. Aboriginal Health Professional of the Year
9. Artist of the Year
10. Business of the Year
11. Non-for-profit Organisation of the Year
12. Carer of the Year
13. Community Person of the Year

Nominations close Sunday 20 May 2012.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 21 June 2012 at a special NAIDOC Perth Awards Ceremony at the Governor’s Ball Room and will be promoted throughout 1-7 July for NAIDOC Week 2012.

For guidelines and nomination forms, please click here.

For for more information about the NAIDOC Perth Awards, contact Gail Beck on  08 9358 7403  (during work hours) or  0411 093 870  (after hours).

For information on previous winners, visit the NAIDOC Perth Awards website.

Country is our mother, the provider and keeper of cultural belongings. Country and Culture go together. You can’t have one without the other.

Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Owners and custodians throughout Western Australia, and on whose Country we work. We acknowledge and respect their deep connection to their lands and waterways.

We honour and pay respect to Elders, and to their ancestors who survived and cared for Country.

Our offices are located on Whadjuk Country, Southern Yamatji Country, Yinggarda Country, Kariyarra Country, and Yawuru Country. We recognise the continuing culture, traditions, stories and living cultures on these lands and commit to building a brighter future together.

Disclaimer: Caution: Please be advised that this website may contain images, voices and names of deceased people.

This will close in 15 seconds