Country, Culture, People, Future

Pilbara Regional Committee

Natalie Parker

Co-Chairperson, Pilbara Region - Board of Directors, Chairperson - Pilbara Regional Committee

Natalie is a Nyiyaparli woman from the central Pilbara region who is well known in the community for her leadership capacity.

Natalie represents her community on the board of the Gumula Aboriginal Corporation, Gumula Enterprises Pty Ltd, Meta Maya Aboriginal Corporation as well as being the representative for Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation (YMAC) as a Director of Pilbara Solar Pty Ltd.

Natalie enjoys camping on country and spending quality time with her grandchildren. Her aspirations for the future include improvements in health, education and economic opportunities for Aboriginal people. She also would like to see the recognition of culture and a strong future for all.

Natalie is the YMAC Co-Chairperson – Pilbara Regional Committee.

Doris Eaton

Deputy Co-Chairperson, Pilbara Region - Board of Directors, Deputy Chairperson - Pilbara Regional Committee

Mrs Eaton is a Njamal woman from the eastern Pilbara region and in 2009 was named NAIDOC’s female elder of the year.

Mrs Eaton has been involved in health programs for Aboriginal women and children, care for the elderly and has completed studies at the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education in Darwin.

Mrs Eaton’s driving force is to ensure that younger generations learn strong culture and law from their elders.

Nora Cooke

Nora is an Ngarla woman who played an integral role in her people’s native title determination in 2007.

Nora enjoys the bush life in the Pilbara, including fishing, camping, cooking and hunting. Nora has an in-depth understanding of bush medicine and provides advice to people seeking bush medicine treatments. She also practices her culture by teaching several Aboriginal languages and running cultural awareness training at mine sites and at the Wangka Maya Language Centre.

To Nora, Country means to live freely on the land, gathering food and hunting.

David Cox (Barndu)

David Cox is an elder, applicant, and working group member for the Yinhawangka claim group. He was born and raised on Rocklea Station in Yinhawangka country, and has worked as a stockman mustering sheep and cattle across the Pilbara. In the 1990’s, David moved to the Bellary Springs community where he lives today.

David is passionate about Yinhawangka law, land, and culture. He provided preservation evidence in support of the Yinhawangka claim to the Federal Court in 2014. David was elected as the Yinhawangka member of the Pilbara Regional Committee on 16 May 2017.

Terry Jaffrey

Terry is from the Western Shaw River and a member of the Palyku claim group. He has a long relationship with YMAC and has been an active supporter of native title since 2006. After six years of being a committee member, he took a short break to fulfil professional obligations as Terry liaises with mining proponents and advises on the best interests for his group. He was re-elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee in 2012 and elected to the Board of Directors in November 2014.

Terry was originally involved in the Woodstock/Abydos Heritage Project, located in the East Pilbara region within the traditional Country of the Kariyarra and Palyku people. The area contains numerous sites of cultural and historical importance, including mythological, ceremonial, artefacts, engravings and paintings. This area is currently state heritage-listed, after extensive work. It is Terry’s dream to have this area nationally recognised and eventually world heritage-listed.

Albert Pianta

Albert is a member of the Ngarlawangga native title claim and the Working Group.

He is an active member of the Ngarlawangga and Njamal communities. He has worked in education and continues to focus on getting strong education and training outcomes for the whole community.

Albert was elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee on 8 March 2012.

Raylene Button

Raylene was elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee in February 2022. Check back soon for a full profile.

Ivan Smirke

Ivan Smirke is a member of the Jurruru Working Group, and was elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee in August 2014. Check back soon for a full profile.

Diane Stewart

Diane is a Nyangumarta woman who has been actively involved in the Nyangumarta Warrarn Aboriginal Corporation (Prescribed Body Corporate), after being inspired by elders who worked towards the 2009 Nyangumarta determination.

Diane was born in Port Hedland and continues to live there today, proud that her family of five generations continues to have such a strong connection to Country. Diane feels a great sense of belonging when she spends time on Country with her family, learning hunting and gathering.

Diane is an Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer, working with students, parents and the community for better outcomes for Indigenous students.

She was elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee in February 2012 and to the Board of Directors in August 2012.

Selina Stewart

Selina is a Puutu Kunti Kurrama and Pinikura (PKKP) Traditional Owner and a devoted mother and grandmother. She was elected to the Pilbara Regional Committee in June 2021.

Selina grew up in Carnarvon and Port Hedland and currently lives in South Hedland, where she works at the local high school. She has spent 10 years working to gain Native Title recognition for her community and has fond memories of learning about her Country from her father and grandmother.

Her drive to serve her community is inspired by her father, who was actively involved in Native Title and made sure his daughters could continue in his footsteps.