Country, Culture, People, Future

Wajarri Yamatji achieve Native Title Recognition

The Wajarri Yamatji community celebrated the legal recognition of their land and culture at an on-Country Federal Court hearing at Wooleen Station, held on Thursday 19 October 2017.

The consent determination covers the majority of the Wajarri Yamatji claim area (68,743 square kilometres of the total 97,676 square kilometres). The area encompasses parts of the Shires of Meekatharra, Mount Magnet, Murchison, Upper Gascoyne, Cue and Yalgoo; as well as 56 pastoral leases.

The Wajarri Yamatji claim area is roughly 500 km wide, north to south and lies between the regional towns of Meekatharra, Cue, Yalgoo and just north of Mullewa. The area encompasses Mt Augustus (Burringurrah) and stretches of the Murchison and Gascoyne Rivers.

The journey to this native title determination commenced in 1995 and has involved the coming together of many families to achieve native title recognition. The Wajarri people have inhabited their Country since time immemorial, and have continued to look after their Country. Through their culture and knowledge, Wajarri people have maintained a deep connection to their land that continues to be passed on through the generations.

This native title determination was a historic day for the Wajarri people.

More Information

[gallery size="full" columns="1" ids="4081,4084,4077"]