Mrs Doris Eaton announced as finalist for 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards

Posted: May 13th, 2021

YMAC congratulates Mrs Doris Eaton, our Deputy Co-Chairperson – Pilbara Region, following the announcement she is a finalist for the 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards.

The much-awaited finalists were announced over the weekend, and celebrate thirty-seven outstanding Western Australians who have made an extraordinary impact in a range of fields across seven different award categories.

Mrs Eaton is a confirmed finalist in the ‘Aboriginal Award’ category, which is “presented in celebration of excellence in professional and/or personal achievements at a state, national or international level, contributing to the Western Australian community and recognition as an inspirational role model in the Aboriginal community”.

Mrs Eaton was nominated in recognition of her ongoing and outstanding contribution to the protection, preservation and promotion of Aboriginal culture and heritage; in particular, her dedication and actions as a driving force challenging planned changes to the state’s Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972.

The awards form part of the ‘WA Day’ long weekend festivities. Winners for each category will be announced during a gala dinner in Perth on Friday, 4 June, with the overall ‘Western Australian of the Year’ winner to be selected from the category winners and awarded at the end of the evening.

For a full list of this year’s finalists, please visit CelebrateWA.

To purchase tickets to the gala dinner, please click here.